Lila and Murray Gruber Memorial Cancer Research Award and Lectureship

The Lila and Murray Gruber Memorial Cancer Research Award is one of the largest and most prestigious medical awards. A cash award of $10,000 will be made in recognition of the investigator's lifetime achievements in the field of cancer research. The award has been made possible by a gift from Murray Gruber in memory of his wife. 


Nominate or apply for the 2016 award by clicking the button above. The submission deadline is Feb. 28, 2015.

The purpose of this award is to encourage participation in cancer research and to provide a forum for the enrichment of knowledge of dermatologists in this important scientific field. At the discretion of the task force, the award may be divided between two worthy nominees.​

More information about the award, criteria, and selection process is listed below.

About Murray Gruber

In 1951, Murray Gruber developed the first crude coal tar shampoo on the market. Thus was born Dermik Laboratories, an innovative pharmaceutical company specializing in dermatologicals.

In 1972, Murray Gruber established the Lila and Murray Gruber Cancer Research Award to honor the memory of his first wife, as well as his dedication to dermatology. He entered into an agreement with the AAD to endow a permanent annual lectureship. These lectureships create a forum for presentations to the Academy by outstanding cancer research specialists.

In 1980, the AAD honored Murray Gruber by awarding him the Presidential Citation in recognition of his contribution to dermatology.

Murray Gruber, an honorary member of the AAD, died on Jan. 10, 2012 at the age of 94. He is survived by his wife, Helen, and three children, Barry Gruber, Daryl Kulok, and Sharon Draghi.


  • The recipient may be a physician or non-physician scientist of national or international stature whose contributions in the field of cancer research have been outstanding in importance and distinction.
  • The recipient should be a recognized expert whose contributions in the field of cancer research have been outstanding in practice and distinction.
  • The award must be accepted in person and will be presented during the Annual Meeting of the American Academy of Dermatology.
  • The recipient must have excellent and proven communication skills.

Selection Process

Requests for nominations will be solicited from the Academy membership at large. The recipient will be selected by the Named Lectureship Task Force and presented to the Scientific Assembly Committee for approval at the planning meeting, which is held in the spring of the year prior to the presentation of the lecture.

The Academy will announce its final decision in June of the following year.

2014-15 Named Lectureship Task Force

Scott M. Dinehart, MD, FAAD - Chair
Lawrence F. Eichenfield, MD, FAAD
Ilona J. Frieden, MD, FAAD
Sharon A. Ramier, MD, FAAD
Frances J. Storrs, MD, FAAD
David R. Bickers, MD, FAAD - Advisor
Tracy Farhan - Staff Liaison


Previous award recipients

2014: Lynda Chin, MD
2013: Martin A. Weinstock, MD, PhD, FAAD

2012: Elizabeth Blackburn, PhD

2011: W. Marston Linehan, MD

2010: Michael R. Stratton, MD

2009: John Mendelsohn, MD

2008: Ian H. Frazer, PhD

2007: Errol C. Friedberg, MD

2006: Carol W. Greider, MD, PhD

2005: Steven A. Rosenberg, MD, PhD

2004: Eric S. Lander, PhD

2003: Stanley Korsmeyer, MD

2002: Douglas R. Lowy, MD

2001: David M. Livingston, MD

2000: Alfred Knudson, Jr., MD, PhD

1999: Richard D. Klausner, MD

1998: Mary-Claire King, PhD

1997: Edward H. Harlowe, Jr., PhD

1996: Bert Vogelstein, MD

1995: Francis S. Collins, MD, PhD

1993: Erkki Ruoslahit, MD

1992: Arnold J. Levine, MD

1991: Lance A. Liotta, MD, PhD

1990: Robert A. Weinberg, MD

1989: Stuart H. Yuspa, MD

1988: Robert T. Schmike, MD

1987: Philip Leder, MD

1986: Thomas A. Waldermann, MD

1985: J. Michael Bishop, MD

1985: Harald Zur Hausen, MD

1984: Margaret L. Kripke, PhD

1984: Robert C. Gallo, MD

1983: Wallace H. Clark, Jr., MD

1983: Stanley Cohen, PhD

1982: Werner Bollag, MD

1982: Michael B. Sporn, MD

1981: Howard M. Temin, PhD

1980: Eugene Joseph Van Scott, MD, FAAD

1980: Howard Green, MD

1979: Emil Frei, III, MD

1979: Gerald Weissman, MD

1978: Hermann Pinkus, MD

1978: Henry Kaplan, MD

1977: Frederic E. Mohs, MD

1977: Bert W. O'Malley, MD

1976: James E. Cleaver, PhD

1976: Charles Heidelberger, PhD

1975: H. Sherwood Lawrence, MD

1975: K. Frank Austen, MD

1974: Robert A. Good, MD, PhD

1974: Judah Folkman, MD

1973: Jaques Monod

1972: Sol Spigelman, PhD

Year: 2016
Description: Lila and Murray Gruber Memorial Cancer Research Award and Lectureship
Meeting name: 74th Annual Meeting
Date of meeting: March 4-7, 2016
Location: Washington, D.C.
Questions: Tracy A. Farhan - Senior Specialist, Live Education
Phone: (847) 240-1485
Fax: (847) 330-1135
Nominate/apply: Apply here