Young Investigator Awards

The AAD Awards for Young Investigators in Dermatology recognize outstanding basic and clinical/translational research by young dermatology investigators in the United States and Canada, and the dermatology departments that support their efforts. The purpose of the award is to acknowledge research contributions that further the improvement of diagnosis and therapeutics in the practice and science of dermatology.

Award: Two young investigators will receive a $6,000 prize to be shared equally between the investigator and the dermatology department supporting the research efforts. The award recipients will also be presented with an engraved plaque at the Academy's Annual Meeting.


  • Applicant must hold DO, MD, or MD/PhD degrees.
  • Applicant must be a participant in or have completed a US or Canadian dermatology residency program accredited by Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME), the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada, or the Professional Corporation of Physicians of Quebec.
  • For MD and DO applicants, submitted research must be initiated after medical school.
  • For MD/PhD applicants, submitted research must be initiated after PhD thesis work.
  • Submitted research must be completed; proposals or research in progress are not eligible.
  • Submitted research must be completed by age 40 and within eight years of completing a terminal degree.
  • Applicants may be granted an extension of up to two years for the completion of this research due to: 1) birth, adoption, or rearing of a child or children; or 2) personal/family medical issues.  
  • Submitted research must be submitted for publication, in press, or published.

Application materials

  • The applicant must personally complete all sections of the application except the letter of recommendation.
  • The application must clearly articulate the research problem, strategy of attack, results, conclusion, and statement of significance to the general dermatology community.
  • One additional letter of recommendation may be submitted as a supplemental attachment.
  • Additional material related to the submitted research may be submitted as a supplemental attachment(s), including (if applicable) a letter from the applicant attesting to the reason(s) for a time extension for submitted research.


The awards selection panel includes representatives from the Council on Science and Research; the editorial board of the Journal of the American Academy of Dermatology; the Association of Professors of Dermatology; the Society for Investigative Dermatology; an AAD member-at-large; and a resident in dermatology or past winner.

Nominees will be judged on the following criteria:

  1. Originality of research concept
  2. Soundness of research design
  3. Quality/clarity of research report
  4. Perceived value of the research to dermatology

If external collaborators or sources of external funding represent any perceived or actual conflict of interest with the AAD and its mission, the AAD reserves the right to exclude the applicant from consideration.


To be considered for the 2015 application cycle, submit your application by Oct. 18, 2015. Applications submitted after October 18 will be considered for the following year’s cycle.

For questions or more information, contact Allen McMillen at or (847) 240-1724.




John Harris, MD, PhD
Ali Jabbari, MD, PhD


Thomas Leung, MD, PhD
Brian Kim, MD


Shadmehr "Shawn" Demehri, MD, PhD
Richard Wang, MD, PhD


Raymond Cho, MD, PhD
Niroshana Anandasabapathy, MD, PhD


Keith Choate, MD, PhD
Emma Guttman, MD, PhD


Kevin Wang , MD, PhD


Emanual Maverakis, MD


David Wong, MD, PhD
Lu Le, M.D., PhD
Kurt Lu, MD


Johann Eli Gudjonsson, MD, PhD
Julie V. Schaffer, MD, FAAD


Aimee S. Payne, MD
David H. Chu, MD, PhD


Luis A. Garza, MD, PhD
David J. Kouba, MD


Rochelle Mandelcorn-Monson, MD
Jennifer T. Trent, MD